Who Still gets the Print Newspaper… and Reads it?

While it’s pretty widely known that printed newspapers have endured a long period of decline, I’m wondering: who is still receiving the printed paper?

Who actually reads those “dinosaurs” of days gone by?

Anyone?

Isn’t getting and reading a newspaper almost akin to admitting your primary home gaming system is “PONG!” You may, or maybe not know what that is but it was cutting edge. In it’s day. Playing a game on your television set! Pretty awesome.

I guess I wondered about this subject and did a little digging to see what the numbers were.  I was actually pleasantly surprised to see that while the number printed/circulated, was in still in decline, it wasn’t near as bad as anticipated. Roughly 10% since about 2000.

I think it’s one of those situations were if asked about receiving – and reading – a printed newspaper,  many people might be inclined to deny it. For fear? Fear they might be seen as not “cool” or maybe a bit of a dinosaur?

I for one still enjoy getting a printed newspaper and reading it! I think it clearly provides a much wider range of news.  Even sections I might not read regularly still generally get opened and “skimmed.”

Eureka!

And that’s where I often find value.   Like stumbling upon a topic or subject which I would never “search online to find” but will at least see headlines in the printed edition.

I recently stumbled upon a really good article in the Columbus Dispatch.  It covered a recent discovery of draft of the King James Bible pertaining to the process which was used to create the King James.  Like a lot of discoveries, it wasn’t the intent of the researcher, Jeffrey Allen Miller.  The notes which were mislabeled long ago, but shed light on how interpretors translated the works versus how they were instructed to perform this task. I guess it wasn’t done “by the book” – so to speak!

Cool. This was a pure accidential find as I scanned through the pages.

“The draft, Miller argues, dates from 1604, when the King James Bible was commissioned, to 1608, when the six teams were asked to send their work to the general committee for review. Unlike the other surviving drafts, which scholars date to later parts of the process, it shows an individual translator’s initial puzzling over aspects of the Greek text of the Apocrypha, indicating the reasoning behind his translation choices, with reference to Hebrew and Latin as well.

“You can actually see the way Greek, Latin and Hebrew are all feeding into what will become the most widely read work of English literature of all time,” Miller said.”

Way cool. I can’t imagine a situation where I might have found this online – aside from maybe reading the actual paper online. Which I’ve tried but I never remember to look there. I just can’t connect those together.

So. Yes I’m one of those dinosaurs. Still want to see that printed page. Those different sections. And I like that it’s laying out there on the ground. For me to “find” and  give that physical reminder that there’s news and there’s always a potential for more gems, or treasures to be found in those pages!

Am I alone? I know based on the facts and stats I’m not but it might be hard to find others willing to admit to it!

Please, feel free to comment so I know I’m not alone! 🙂

Now. Where are those comics?

Why Read a Printed Newspaper? A LinkedIn post as well.

Leave a Reply

